Message from the 2021 - 2022 President



It's great that you have found us and I am delighted to greet you as the elected President of the MLTAT. 


I am hoping that you will choose to work alongside me and our MLTAT team, either by becoming a member, helping to advocate for Langauges education, or by joining one of our professional learning sessions.  


I trained in Tasmania at the University of Tasmania, with a Bachelor of Education and Diploma of Languages. The languages I teach are French and Indonesian. I have taught in a range of Tasmanian locations, Launceston, Devonport and more recently the south of the state. I have taught in both the government and independent sectors and in primary and secondary schools. I've taken on itinerant teaching roles (my record was five schools across a 100km diameter) and I now teach as a primary school French teacher and as a classroom teacher. I had a brief stint working for Curriculum Services in the Department of Education during 2018 as a Senior Project Officer for Languages. I've been a part of ACARA curriculum development and also worked in Online Learning. I hope that with my vast repatoire of experience, I can help support our Languages teachers, students and advocates within our state. I understand the stress and absolute reward and joy of our Languages teaching roles, and value the experience and support that we can all offer each other. 

I would like to thank Melissa Wickins for her work in the role of President of the MLTAT over 2019 -2020.  Her commitment and dedication and enthusiasm has been very much appreciated by those of us in the Languages community. 

I would also like to thank our Secretary, Vicki Brumby and Treasurer, Glenn Brumby for their hard work particularly their work behind the scenes supporting administrative arrangements for memberships, conferences, and so much more. 

Thanks also to all other members of our MLTAT Committee, our Branch Presidents Rosemarie Baker, Leigh Cordell and Suzette Holmes, Single Language Associations representatives Louise Ives (CLTAT), Cathie Sullivan (JATNET), Ans van Heyster (Netzwerk and Alliance Fran├žaise), Scott Ambrose (Pergubit), Hingor Chung (Southern Branch Delegate) Newsletter Editor Suzette Holmes, Department of Education representative Mary Garland and UTAS representative Andy Bown. As a team, we look foward to working together. 

We are currently planning our PL for 2021. Watch this space for more!

I'll sign off in Indonesian for now. Let's bermaju bersama (move forward together).


Warm regards,

Anita Wood 

We acknowledge the Tasmanian Aboriginal people as the traditional custodians of this land, and we pay our respects to the elders past, present and future, for they hold the memories, traditions, culture and hope of First Nations people in Tasmania.  




Modern Language Teachers Association of Tasmania Inc.

ABN 21 665 665 717








FindUs FB RGB BRC Site 500